MARILLION Script For A Jester's Tear (Neo-Prog, 1983)

Review by VianaProghead — Review Nº 128

"Script For A Jester's Tear" is the debut studio album of Marillion and was released in 1983. The album was released
after their fantastic EP "Market Square Heroes" with also "Three Boats From The Candy" and on the B side with their
great epic "Grendel". The line up on the album is Derek Dick "Fish" (vocals), Steve Rothery (guitars), Mark Kelly
(keyboards), Pete Trewavas (bass) and Mick Pointer (drums). Beyond "Market Square Heroes", this is the only album
to feature Pointer in the group. He left Marillion to found Arena where he is still their current drummer.

Read more

Podcast – The Prog Mill edition 61

Edition 61 of THE PROG MILL (first broadcast Sunday 2nd July on Progzilla Radio) is now available to download or stream any time you want.

This weeks playlist:

1 RPWL – Beyond Man and Time (Beyond Man and Time)
2 Comedy of Errors – Song of Wandering Jacomus (House of the Mind)
3 Big Big Train – The Leaden Stour (The Second Brightest Star)
4 Glorious Wolf – For You and I
5 Fish on Friday – Quiet Life (Quiet Life)
6 Geof Whitely Project – The Blessed and the Damned (The Blessed and the Damned)
7 Malibran – I Know Your Soul (Le Porte Del Silenzio)
8 Knight Area – Heaven and Beyond (Heaven and Beyond)
9 Roger Waters – Smell The Roses (Is this The Life We Really Want)
10 Lone Star – She Said She Said (BBC Sessions)
11 Dead Heroes Cub – Stranger in the Looking Glass (A Time of Shadow)
12 Gregorian – Comfortably Numb (Masters of Chant Chapter V)
13 Gregorian Rock – Talon (Fire)

Read more

SOTOS Sotos (RIO/Avant-Prog, 1999)

Review by siLLy puPPy — SOTOS was one of those under-the-radar avant-prog bands that followed in the footsteps of Univers Zero and Art Zoyd, released a couple albums and then disappeared from the scene. This all instrumental ensemble emerged from Bordeaux, France in 1996 and was composed of five musicians. Nicolas Cazaux on violin, flute & tambourine; Yan Hazera on guitar and djembe; Bruno Camiade on bass and djembe; Nadia Leclerc on violin and cello; Michael Hazera on drums and flute. Both Hazera brothers would later play together in their next band Zaar a decade later. All members attended the French National School of Music and required little time in finding a common thread to create their first eponymous album released on the French Gazul label.

Read more

Sounds That Can Be Made #93

Edition 093 of Sounds That Can Be Made is now available as a podcast!



Electric Light Orchestra – Here Is The News (from Time)
Fish – A Gentleman’s Excuse Me (from Vigil in the Wilderness of Mirrors)
Magnum – Days of No Trust (from Wings of Heaven)
T. Rex – Ballrooms of Mars (from The Slider)
David Bowie – Aladdin Sane (1913–1938–197?) (from Aladdin Sane)

Read more

Sounds That Can Be Made #85

Edition 085 of Sounds That Can Be Made is now available as a podcast!



Pink Floyd – Learning to Fly (from A Momentary Lapse Of Reason)
Lunatic Soul – The Final Truth (from Lunatic Soul)
Glitch Code – Glimmer (from Gifted_Damaged)
Nth Ascension – Seventh Rider (Clanaan pt3) (from Ascension of Kings)
Yesterdays – Seven (from Holdfénykert)

Read more

ANGE Au-Delà Du Délire (Symphonic Prog, 1974)

Review by Menswear — One kick in the crotch!

Ouch and ouch again. What a blast! In terms of theatrics we all know Peter Gabriel, Ian Anderson, Fish, Matthew Parmenter or
recently Gerrit Welmers of Future Islands. But the real McCoy, the supreme mogul of intensity is Christian Décamps. He is,
period. The guy is simply a volcano, a massive erupting volcano of entertainment. Even pushing 60 years old, go see him on
YouTube; it's uncanny.

Read more

Podcast – The Prog Mill edition 58

Edition 58 of THE PROG MILL is now ready for you to stream any time you like or download.

This week we have another 2 hours of superb progressive rock. Here’s the playlist

1 The Ryszard Kramarski Project – The Little Prince (Music Inspired by the Little Prince)
2 Unreal City – Oniromanzia ((Il Paese Del Tramonto)
3 Fish on Friday – Unreal (Quiet Life)
4 Magic Bus – Trail to Canaa (Phillip the Egg)
5 Comedy of Errors – House of the Mind album sampler
6 Long Earth -Her Ghost in the Fog (The Source)
7 La Coscienza di Zeno – Pauvre Misere (Sensitiva)
8 Ritual – Late in November (The Hemulic Voluntary Band)
9 Moongarden – Southampton Railroad (Songs from the Lighthouse)
10 Wetton-Downes – Reflections of My Life (Icon II – Rubicon)
11 Kim Seviour – Chiasma (Recovery is Learning)
12 Bachdenkel – Xenophon (Stalingrad)
13 IQ -Erosion (The Seventh House)
14 The Sweet -Fountain (Level Headed)
15 Steven Wilson – Pariah (To The Bone)
16 Big Big Train – Brave Captain (Grimspound)

Read more