ZOVIET FRANCE Patina Pooling (with Fossil Aerosol Mining Project) (Progressive Electronic, 2014)

Review by Lewian — Zoviet France (now spelling :zoviet*france:) are very much alive and well as of 2018 although I
can't track all their work down that was done in the meantime. However, I bought "Patina Pooling" on
a recent live gig. This CD comes in a pretty heavy rusty steel case, great for those who love this
kind of "art", not quite as great for those who buy it for the music only and have to pay extra for
the fancy packaging. I'm fine with this and it looks great, and in any case the music was worth the
expense. The CD was a collaboration with the Fossil Aerosol Mining Project from Chicago, who seem to
be about as prolific as :zoviet*france: in the experimental electronic music szene.

Read more

Edition 230 – Live From Progzilla Towers

Proving that prog isn't just for dinosaurs!

I’m delighted to announce that the podcast for edition 230 of Live From Progzilla Towers is now available.

In this edition we heard the following music:

  1. Alan Reed – For The Greater Glory (Live)
  2. Good Tiger – The Devil Thinks I’m Sinking
  3. Genesis – Can-Utility And The Coastliners
  4. Bjørn Riis – Getaway
  5. Bjørn Riis – Coming Home
  6. Hasse Bruniusson – A Clown’s Opinion
  7. Synergy – Legacy
  8. Heliophant – Inner Voice
  9. Umphrey’s Mcgee – Remind Me
  10. Kate Bush – Pull Out The Pin
  11. Eris Pluvia – Rings of Earthly Light
  12. Landberk – Tradet
  13. Attila – Tear This Castle Down
  14. Billy Joel – Prelude & Angry Young Man
  15. Nils Frahm – Human Range
  16. Perfect Beings – Vibrational (Complete)
  17. Pierre Moerlen’s Gong – Emotions
  18. Arrow Catcher – Seize The Day
  19. Long Distance Calling – Ascending
  20. Steve Hackett – Inside And Out (Live)
  21. Steve Hackett – Hoping Love Will Last

iTunes/iPod users*: Just search for ‘Progzilla’ or subscribe to: http://podcasts.progzilla.com/cliff/podcast.xml


The post Edition 230 – Live From Progzilla Towers appeared first on Progzilla Radio.

Read more

GÖSTA BERLINGS SAGA Sersophane (Eclectic Prog, 2016)

Review by Kingsnake — I love intrumental music, especially when it's borderline-chaotic.

I knew this band only name, but thanks to Spotify, music is much closer to home, than back in the days when I was
younger and had little money to spend.

The music of G'sta Berlings Saga is much lighter than Anekdoten, but follows the same path. Heavily inspired by 70's
symphonic rock but with a bit of modern-day stoner and altrock influences. They band also reminds me a bit of the
instrumental side of Beadfish.

Read more

VAN DER GRAAF GENERATOR 68-71 (Eclectic Prog, 1972)

Review by VianaProghead — Review Nº 164

Van Der Graaf Generator was formed in 1967, by Peter Hammill and Chris Judge Smith, at Manchester University,
but was settled in London. On arrival at London, Hammill and Smith met up the classically trained keyboardist
Hugh Banton, who was a brother of one of their friends in Manchester. Later, the bass guitar player, Keith Ellis and
the drummer Guy Evans joined them. However, soon Smith left the band, amicably. He felt his presence

Read more

MOUTH Floating (Eclectic Prog, 2018)

Review by Rivertree — I'm inclined to say that this songs are representing some survival of the band's recordings for the
album 'Vortex' in the majority. Which doesn't reveal anything about the quality as such though. It's
more a matter of concept and stylistical context here, I would say. The themes are still connected
to the loose narrative of the forerunner album, which musically appears in a rather rough and
unpolished manner. Here we are experiencing at least some tunes presented in a more charming outfit,
even a bit pop infiltrated. And so just confirming this the opening Floating (Reprise) turns
out to be a moderated alternative version, much more keyboard and acoustic guitar driven, the ideal
crossover at least, if you will.

Read more

TIM BUCKLEY My Fleeting House (Prog Folk, 2007)

Review by Matti — Although over ten years old, this DVD, in which the late great artist's career is told through interviews and TV appearances,
still seems to be the only one available on the legendary American troubadour TIM BUCKLEY (1947 - 1975). But it's a pretty
satisfying one nevertheless, at least if you don't expect any comprehensive concert footage. As the second one to write about
this release here, I try to give a little more detailed overview.

Read more